Posted by: Mildred's eftedmonton Blog | December 24, 2010

Quit Smoking For the New Year

There seem to be a lot of posts around  regarding quitting or not quitting in the blogosphere so I thought I would throw in my two cents.

There are many reasons- aside from the physical addiction that is- that cause a smoker to depend on cigarettes.

Typically, smokers are conflicted about wanting to smoke-they don’t consciously want the associated stink, mess and health risks, but they need the nicotine fix. Smoking feels like a friend comforting them and an enemy trying to kill them. Some smokers enjoy smoking. Some really hate it but feel trapped in their addiction.

When a smoker is young, it is easier to ignore the negative aspects of the addiction, but as we age, we find that we may want to set a better example to our kids or grand kids; that we don’t enjoy the ashtray smell of our clothes ;  and that we really do want to live the 14 years that smoking reduces from our life span.

Using EFT, you can deal with your anxiety, physical cravings and even the physical withdrawal aspects of the addiction. Then as the emotional aspects present themselves, you can tap these away too.

Here are few sentences to get you or keep you going if you are planning to quit smoking this season: Use each or any of  these phrases and tap the karate chop point on the side of the hand, repeating at least 3 times.

Even though I have tried to quit smoking before, I accept myself. even though I have been told that nicotine is more addictive than heroin, I accept myself.

Even though I am afraid of living without nicotine in my life, I accept myself.

Even though I really want one right now, I accept myself, anyway.
Even though I could use a cigarette to reward myself for not smoking, I accept myself.
Even though I am “bad”, I accept myself.

Even though I think I need nicotine to survive,  I accept myself.

Even though I am not yet sure that I want to quit smoking, I accept myself.

Even though I have been smoking for __________, I accept myself.

Even though I’ve failed at quitting in the past, I accept myself.
Even though I am addicted to nicotine, I accept myself
Even though I am really sorry I started this filthy and addictive habit, I accept myself.

This might get you started. I really recommend Allen Carr’s “Easy Way to Stop Smoking”

Contact me by telephone at 1. 780. 432. 3605 from anywhere in North America. You can also reach me by email at mildred  @ emofree.ca (no spaces). I live in Edmonton, AB, Canada, but I have clients from all over the world.  I charge 80.00/hour for telephone appointments but if this is an issue, we can work something out.


Responses

  1. I like your way of helping smokers quit their habit. I believe that those phrases, if rooted in the minds and hearts of the smokers, will surely help them in the process. It takes time and personal desire to finally kick of the habit. Time will come that they will change and want to live a cigarette-free life. Hope the best way to quit smoking will be of great help to those who are struggling.

  2. I just finished Allan Carr’s “Easy Way to Stop Smoking” and I have become a fan. He challenges our common beliefs about smoking and re-frames the process as not a difficult process, but as something that is more akin to breaking free of our chains. After reading the book, I have decided to update some of the EFT smoking phrases in the article.


Leave a Reply

Categories

