Posted by: Mildred's eftedmonton Blog | February 22, 2013

EFT and Yoga

I have been taking yoga at The Yoga Loft (theyogaloft.com) here in Edmonton and I have to say I am loving it.  I took my first yoga class 37 years ago, and I thought at the time it would be great to do when I got old, like in my fifties.  But if I had been going to the Yoga Loft, I might not have had the same idea.  They really  challenge you in a fast paced, varied and balanced program. Now that I am much older, I wish that I had been doing yoga when I was young -some of the postures would be so much easier.

Anyway, I’ve come across a few ways to get more out of my yoga practice with EFT. If any of these sentences resonate with you, feel free to use them in your regular EFT practice starting with the karate chop point three times for each phrase that hits the mark for you and then do a couple rounds of EFT. (If you need a refresher check out EFT in a nutshell for a description of the points.)  You will find that your yoga practice really flows.

  • Even though these old bones of mine just don’t want to  fold up the way they used to, I accept myself.
  • Even though I can’t seem to breathe in as fully as I think I should, I accept myself.
  • Even though I feel so stiff when I do yoga in the morning, I accept myself.
  • Even though I can’t do this certain posture without hurting, I accept myself.
  • Even though I can’t bend this part of my body as well as other people in the class can, I accept myself.
  • Even though I can’t twist to the side as well as I would like to, I accept myself.
  • Even though I tend to over-do it sometimes, I accept myself and I choose to be gentle with myself. I choose to remind myself that yoga is not a competitive sport.
  • Even though my body doesn’t look as fit or beautiful as other people’s bodies do, I accept myself anyway. I have a body that works pretty well for what I do with it.
  • Even though I have trouble concentrating on my breathing while I am doing yoga, I accept myself.
  • Even though I have trouble holding certain postures and breathing at the same time, I accept myself
  • Even though my body doesn’t always want to do what  I tell it to do, I accept myself anyway and I choose to be patient with my body.

When I think back to those days in the late 1970’s, yoga wasn’t nearly as well-known or universal as it is today. In another 50 years, I predict that people will be doing EFT at studios or in online groups just as they are now doing yoga.  Nobody needs to have yoga explained to them – it is universally understood and accepted as commonplace activity.  I am eagerly awaiting the same universal acceptance of EFT.


Responses

  1. Mildred, you make it sound so inviting, I may try it myself! Go Girl! 🙂 Arum

  2. Great post Mildred.

    Thank you. Keep up the good work!


Leave a Reply

Categories

