Posted by: Mildred's eftedmonton Blog | August 21, 2012

Client Fears Loss of Memory

As we start to age, some of us have our parents and our parents’ aging processes to observe and to predict our own aging future.  This is the case with a recent telephone client.  Her mother, who has been losing her memory, was recently declared mentally incompetent and placed in a senior’s home. Though she has been there for several weeks, she thinks  it is only a temporary visit and that she has only been there a few days. My client who has forgotten the odd appointment, and complains of not getting the right word for common items, fears that she is bound to repeat her mother’s story.

Here are some sentences I used to help my client with some of her fears surrounding these circumstances. If you have dementia or Alzheimer’s disease in the family, I recommend tapping along as you read these sentences.  You can get more information of the tapping points  and the process  by checking out EFT-in-a-Nutshell  at www3.telus.net/emofree/EFT-in-a-nutshell.htm

  • Even though my mother has lost her memory, I accept myself.
  • Even though its very upsetting to see what has happened to Mom, I accept myself.
  • Even though it makes me sad to know that she will forget more and more as time passes, I accept myself.
  • Even though mom doesn’t remember things I’ve told her yesterday, I accept myself.
  • Even though her poor memory is sabotaging her own well-being, I accept myself.
  • Even though she doesn’t remember her  own grand-children’s names, I accept myself.
  • Even though she doesn’t remember that she even has some of her younger grand-children, I accept myself.
  • Even though I’m afraid she won’t remember who I am, I accept myself.
  • Even though I’m afraid of being just like her in a few years, I accept myself.
  • Even though I’m afraid that I won’t remember the names of my loved ones, I accept myself.
  • Even though I’m afraid of losing my memory, I accept myself.
  • Even though I’ve had  a head injury that may have affected my memory, I accept myself.
  • Even if I do take after my mom and my grandfather in having dementia, I accept myself.
  • Even though I’m afraid people will get frustrated with me  the way I am frustrated with her, I accept myself.
  • Even though I know it upsets her when I show my frustration with her, I accept myself.
  • Even though its hard to know what to do for Mom, I accept myself.

Leave a Reply

Categories

