Posted by: Mildred's eftedmonton Blog | September 10, 2011

Tap for 9-11 Anxiety Relief

Hi Everyone,

Well its the 10th anniversary of 9-11 and if you have not been completely away from your televisions, radios, and newspapers, you will have been reminded and perhaps re-traumatized by past footage of the towers falling, and victims recounting their own stories of pain and survival. I want you all to take a minute and quickly write down three upsetting things you saw, heard, or read about on this 10th anniversary.

Then Follow this pattern and tap for each of the three events/incidents/examples.

So if you wrote down for example,

1. The story of the school girl with PTSD
2. The story of the blind man coming down the stairs with his dog.
3. The visual image of the plane going into the tower

So, tapping the side of your hand, the karate chop point,
Say aloud or mentally:

“Even though I feel upset by listening to stories about 9-11 such as the girl who suffered PTSD, I accept myself.”

“Even though I feel upset by listening to stories about 9-11 such as the one about the blind man and his dog, I accept myself.”

“Even though I feel upset by being reminded about 9-11 and the plane hitting the tower, and even though that image is burned into my memory, I accept myself.”

“Even though I am reminded of my helplessness when I hear these stories, I accept myself.”

“Even though I am re-traumatized by media stories about 9-11, I accept myself and I forgive the media – they are just doing their jobs.”

Then tap several rounds of EFT starting with tapping on the top of your head, between your eyebrows, side of the eyes, under the eyes,under the nose, under the lips, collarbone, and under the arms. Tap using a reminder phrase such as “school girl trauma”, “blind man”, and “plane hitting the tower” as you tap each point 7-10 times.

If any other images or thoughts come up, write them down and include them in their own tapping sequence.

Take a deep breath, and mentally send out love and compassion to everyone directly affected by 9-11.

I just followed my own advice now and I feel a little lighter and less burdened by helplessness. I hope you do too. It will take you about 5 or 10 minutes to do a proper job of it.

Tap as you encounter any more 9-11 stories this weekend and teach your family members to do this too.

Mildred Thill 780-432-3605


Responses

  1. Thank you… I’m a beginner EFT, and have seen it get rid of sinus headaches and knee pain… a fan of your blog đŸ™‚

    • Thanks, I love EFT because it is not a matter of faith for it to work, it is a matter of just doing it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

