Posted by: Mildred's eftedmonton Blog | May 31, 2010

The Oil Spill in the Gulf of Mexico

The current oil spill in the gulf of Mexico may be the worst environmental disaster ever affecting North America. Other than worrying about it, there doesn’t seem much for the average person to do.

However as an EFT practitioner I do have something that I can use to help myself deal with the stress and to direct my intention to the ending of the spill and towards the cleanup. I also address some of my own feelings and pessimism in the script below. Feel free to try this yourself and customize it with some of your own thoughts and feelings in the matter.

Tapping on the karate chop point, say or think aloud each sentence below. If something seems really true to you, repeat it two or more times before going on to the next sentence.

  • Even though this is a huge environmental disaster, I accept myself.
  • Even though the Louisiana marshlands will never recover from this oil spill, I accept myself.
  • Even though thousands of shrimpers and fishermen are losing their livelihoods over this disaster, I accept myself.
  • Even though birds, fish, and mammals are dying over this event, I accept myself.
  • Even though this may be the tipping point in causing the ocean’s death, I accept myself.
  • Even though BP should never have been permitted to drill in the ocean, I accept myself.
  • Even though oil and big business seem to trump the environment every time, I accept myself.
  • Even though it seems the oil companies don’t seem to care much about the environment, I accept myself.
  • Even though they cannot seem to plug the hole of this oil spill, I accept myself.
  • Even though it seems that they have almost given up on plugging the hole, I accept myself.
  • Even though no one seems to know how to plug this hole spewing oil into the ocean, I accept myself.
  • Even though this oil is causing health problems for those who are working and trying to clean it up, I accept myself.
  • Even though if the hole were plugged tomorrow, it is still a huge disaster and even though they are expecting it to take another 30 days before they can stop the oil from spilling out, I accept myself anyway, and I chose to remain hopeful that an earlier solution may be found.
  • Even though I am still really worried about the end results of this oil spill, I accept myself; I’m doing the best I can from where I stand.

Well I feel a bit better about the possibility of fixing this sooner. How do you feel?


Responses

  1. I don’t feel any better. I will feel better when the president reinstates the moratorium against any new off shore drilling. What can I do about that? well, I can boycott BP and I can let my voice be heard.

  2. Even though I feel helpless, I accept myself.

    Even though all I can do is boycott BP so they won’t have any resources to pay for this environmental damage, I accept myself.

    Even though reinstating the moratorium will not undo the damage already done, I accept myself.

    Even though the president can’t stop this leak, himself, I accept myself anyway.

  3. Thank you Mildred. After re-reading my original post, I see that it may look as though my irritation was directed at you or your post. It was not meant to be. (I still don’t feel better, but I’ll work on it.) đŸ™‚

    • I did not take it that way at all. I just added a couple more sentences based on your own words. Remember to tap the side of the hand- the edge of the palm by the little finger as you say the phrases. It may seem pointless but it really does work after awhile.

      Because you have so much understanding about the matter, and because you have built up a lot of emotion about it, it may require a bit more effort to get some relief.

      The other thing to understand is that you may not WANT to let go of your anger about this issue. That’s okay too, as long as you are able to find a good way of relieving your bodily stress – exercise, yoga, tai chi or some other activity.


Leave a Reply

Categories

