Posted by: Mildred's eftedmonton Blog | November 24, 2009

Dealing with the Flu shot and its after-effects

If you have decided to put yourself or your child through the flu shot, you can make it easier by using a little EFT.

First deal with any anxieties about the event that you may have. Some examples that come to mind are

  • The needle might hurt.
  • It may cause a lot of pain.
  • There may be an adverse reaction such as swelling, muscle aches, allergic reaction or more.
  • You or your child had a bad reaction the last time you had a similar shot.
  • You have always been afraid of needles.
  • ____________________________________(any other concerns)

So, tapping on the side of first your own hand and then your child’s hand tap for these fears thus :

  • Even though the needle might hurt, I accept myself.
  • Even though it may cause a lot of pain, I accept myself.
  • Even though there may be an adverse reaction such as swelling, muscle aches, allergic reaction or more, I accept myself.
  • Even though I  had a bad reaction the last time I had a similar shot, I accept myself.
  • Even though I have always been afraid of needles, I accept myself. If you have needle fears check out this article here.
  • Even though _______________________________ , I accept myself anyway.

Once you have dealt with any  fears or concern surrounding the actual event, you have tapped for these and are feeling better about the upcoming event, go ahead and get the shot.  If it hurts at all afterwards, if you have swellng or pain afterwards, you can tap for this too.

  • Even though my arm really hurts right now, I am a good person. I am just doing the best I can to stay healthy and safe.

Or if all this brought you to the point that you decided against getting the flu shot:

  • Even though I’ve decided not to get the flu shot, I accept myself anyway.  I am doing the best I can to stay healthy and safe.

Leave a Reply

Categories

